2010 April 29: AL (12 counties): Open burn ban will begin Saturday

2010 April 29: AL (12 counties): Open burn ban will begin Saturday

Times Staff Reports

Published: Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at 7:48 p.m.
Last Modified: Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at 7:50 p.m.
DeKalb and Etowah counties are among those where open burning will be banned beginning Saturday, according to a news release from the Alabama Department of Environmental Management.

The open burning ban will be in effect for 12 counties across Alabama. The ban, which is designed to protect air quality, is effective from May through October and includes Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Shelby and Talladega counties.
The ban is in effect each year for the warmer months to combat the formation of ground-level ozone and the generation of fine particulate matter.
Prohibiting the open burning of wood, tree trimmings, brush and debris generated by land clearing and construction/demolition activities is an effective way to reduce the formation of ground-level ozone, which is formed when volatile organic compounds and nitrogen oxides react in the presence of heat and sunlight. Fine particulate matter is found in the smoke from the open burning of vegetation and wood.
Though beneficial in the upper atmosphere, ozone is a respiratory irritant when found at ground level. In addition, fine particulate matter can travel deep into the lungs and cause respiratory distress.
The burn ban is one of many efforts the department uses to maintain air quality in Alabama. The environmental programs administered by the department under the federal Clean Air Act support the overarching goal of ensuring that all Alabama residents have clean air to breathe.
In lieu of open burning, the department suggests composting yard waste and using leaves, straw and grass clippings for mulch. In addition to providing air quality benefits, using mulch in flower beds and gardens also will support efforts to conserve water resources.
This entry was posted in A-B States = AL, AK, AZ, AR = Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s